Back from paradise

photo-small

So we survived our houseboat adventure … in fact, I think we flourished as a family! We actually enjoyed each other’s company (most of the time!) and worked together to keep everything running well.  Of course, there is a fair bit to do each time you put down and raise the anchor, so hubby and I had to listen to each other, plus watch our little one. But it was definitely worth it.  Above is a photo of our 3-year-old drinking in the view. I think he had a great time too.

While it’s always lovely to be back, we had a blast on our trip. Cruising around the islands, dining on freshly-caught crab, squid and fish, swimming at the odd well-protected inlet … it was like paradise.

I must admit though that I have `sea legs’ (or is that `land legs’) – I’m still detecting a bit of wave action whenever I stand too still!

I definitely think it’s good we went and did this but my focus has immediately returned to boosting our finances wherever I can.

Two jobs for today:

1) Rework our billpaying account to ensure that enough cash is being held each week to meet our regular bills; also I will investigate whether any of these (pay TV/internet) can be reduced.

2) List my financial goals for 2009 on the sidebar so I can scratch them off once achieved.

We’re aiming to build up a 20% deposit, which will take at least two years (from January ’09) so there’s a lot of work to do and I’d like to cut that period down as much as possible.

2 Comments »

  1. debtdieter said

    If you’re with the company that says ‘yes’, let me know as I should be able to steer you in the right direction on your broadband & TV changes.

  2. Maureen said

    So glad you enjoyed your holiday, I have just returned home to Qld. from South Australia, and boy did I feel the cold down there. Looking forward to receiving your help with Broadband and TV charges. Many thanks

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

