A good day

Well, thanks for all the feedback given our recent issue with the friend that didn’t pay up. I’m happy to report he has handed back $250 ($100 to go) and has finally apologised. He admitted he didn’t mean to take so long, and he hadn’t wanted to bring it up to us and apologise till he could bring over all of the money, instead of an excuse. Finally he realised he’d really messed up and decided that giving us most of the money was better than none at all. He declares he will bring the rest this week, and I do believe him. I was pretty annoyed for a while, but now am happy to say that he has shown himself to be honourable. Obviously this is a good thing for our friendship!

Anyway, the other news is that I had my fortnightly pay, my Aussie stimulus cheque ($900) and my child care rebate ($1460) all arrive in my account on the same day! A good day!

This means we have been able to:

1) make the voluntary retirement contribution of $1000 – this means at the end of the financial year the goverment will add $1200-$1500 to my retirement account! If I get the full amount, it will mean that over two years I will have added $2000 of my own money with a return of $5000 overall! This is probably especially important given how much my retirement fund dropped in value last year (at least 1/3, or about $10,000). It has helped offset some of that.

2) create a debit account of $2000 – this means there is $2000 at the ready for flights that need to be bought at short notice, or to buy appliances that have blown up suddenly (I don’t want to use the emergency fund for a new TV!). This is to pay for the stuff we would otherwise have placed on credit card and `paid back’. Now we will be paying ourselves back instead of a credit provider.

3) Remaining is about $2200 which has not been allocated. This was going to go towards a purchase of some shares, though it would probably be better used towards our home deposit. I do want to make it a regular thing each year to buy a share parcel, and part of me knows that if I don’t make it a priority some time, years will go by and we still won’t have done it. While I understand that we should maximise our home deposit, I also want to invest at some point and don’t think the two goals need to be exclusive. I also think this is a great time to buy shares and we might kick ourselves if we don’t jump in soon.

We could buy some blue chips like Woolworths or one of Australia’s big four banks. We know these are probably safe bets and are pretty much `on sale’ right now. I talked to my husband and he agrees we should go for it. Taking the plunge is kind of scary though. It’s so much easier to sit tight and do nothing!

Two years ago I could not have imagined dealing with issues as fun as these. I had never even considered what it might be like to not have to use a lump sum to pay off some kind of personal debt. Believe me, those who are working to pay off debt or who have recently done so, the benefits do eventually show themselves. Just work hard and get rid of it for good!

1 Comment »

  1. Bill said

    Wow, you are one dedicated family. You are a true inspiration. I can’t wait until I’m debt free.

    If there is anyway we could exchange blogroll links I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thank you.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

