Recognising your own success

Tricia over at Blogging Away Debt had a guest post up this week from Rob in Madrid, talking about how debt and frugality is all in how you see it: you can see it as a chore or as a game, something to prove to yourself you can achieve.
Well I’m putting my hand up today to admit I’ve been over the top in the way I’ve been behaving about debt. I’ve been spending way too much focusing on it and what I can do to get rid of it, without recognising that:

1) We still need to live in the meantime; and

2) we are already doing a great job being frugal.

Sometimes you just don’t give your self enough credit for what you are doing. I’ve realised I need to give us more time (and a little mad money) to live life while we pay off our debt. Yes, I’d prefer not to pay a cent more interest on my car – I’d love to pay it off this year. But you can’t achieve everything at once. You can only plug away at it and realise how well you are going.

My hubby takes little or no interest in our finances, yet is incredibly supportive about the little I leave in our account once all our debt repaying and saving goals are met. Occasionally he gripes, but he recognises why I am doing it and knows we are better off with me in charge of it. However, I haven’t been giving myself the same credit.

I am going to stop being so overbearing, spend a lot less time fretting and a lot more time doing the other things I can do towards success (like passing my course!).

Needless to say, I’m not changing the way I’ve budgeted debt repayment. I’m just not going to beat myself up all the time about how bad it is to still have the debt we do. I will also keep blogging and will start to jazz this site up in the next week or so, now that I’ve figured out what I’m doing!

Leave a Reply

