Feeling a bit low

I am going to talk about the fact I have been feeling a bit down about my finances, yet I am acutely aware that I have things very good compared to a lot of people out there. I am really feeling for JW over at Need to be Debt Free, because he is working so hard to reduce his debt and outside circumstances just seem to continue giving him a really hard time. I admire that he continues to have the energy to get up and do two jobs. We’re all supporting you JW!

The thing is, we all know that we are lucky in a lot of ways, but it doesn’t stop us from having off days (or off weeks!).  I know, when I look back to where we were a few months ago, that we have come a long way. But part of me wants to be rid of the debt now. As in NOW! However, as a few PF commentators have said recently, it is this debt reduction journey that will teach them – and me – why we need to avoid bad debt in the future. It’s still hard sometimes to put in the hard yards though. I keep trying to think of ways to get rid of the debt quicker, but I know (for example) that no matter how hard I work it it is going to take me two years to pay off the car loan – minimum. I guess one way to look at it is that I could divert some of the regular contributions to home deposit savings to pay off the car sooner (probably makes better sense in purely financial terms), but we really want to be able to move eventually, so showing a savings history is important.

As Lynnae at Being Frugal said recently, I can see all this as a choice. And I have to admit that helps. But I see all my contemporaries looking fashionable, and part of me wants to say `who cares, let’s spend’. The other side of that coin is, I already did that and look where it got me.

I know that next week I’ll be a bit brighter. I watched the Suze Orman Show last night and instead of focusing on the people who had big dollars in their savings account I tried to be more objective. A noticed the other people, the ones who actually had bigger debts than me and we’re a lot older … and who wanted to put more stuff on credit.

I shouldn’t compare myself to others (especially others in another country) but sometimes it’s hard not to. I don’t like myself much when I get like this, so maybe it’s better if I log off and come back when I’m in a better frame of mind, and feeling a bit more thankful for all that I have.

1 Comment »

  1. beingfrugal said

    Thank you for writing such an honest post. I think we all feel this way at times when we’re trying to pay off debt.

    You bring up a good point with the people calling into the Suze Orman show. And it helps me to remember it when I’m jealous of people who seem to have all the material things I want. They’re probably in debt up to their eyeballs paying for all their nice things.

    In 10 years when we’re out of debt and financially secure, they’ll probably be jealous of us. 🙂 Hang in there!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

