A stupid game that makes me feel good

Well I don’t know about you but sometimes I get sick of focusing on what I need to pay off, to whom and in what order … sometimes I like to look at things in a `glass half full’ kind of way.

Though it might seem crazy to some, I sometimes like to make a list of exactly how much money I’d need to find/make/win to to be debt free and comfortable, but not go too crazy. It’s kind of like playing `if I won lotto’ but retaining a sense of reality (eg I’m not looking for a $5m mansion and a luxury world-trip):

To be comfortable and have a little fun, I’d want/need:

– $6500 to pay off debt to family (the whole hog, in cash)

– $14,000 to pay off car debt

– $350,000 to buy a modest home outright

– $10,000 to furnish the house 

– about $15,000 to cover my final interest-free student debt once I finish uni

– $4000 for dental work

– $5000 to fix our clothing crisis

– $15,000 to go on our dream trip to Italy and France

That sounds pretty good, doesn’t it?

So, added up, we’d need about $420,000 to feel like the world was ours, to feel like I imagine a millionaire does. This kind of money would mean we’d still need to save up for our next car, put money away for our retirement and pay the bills as they fall due, but it would be an amazing head-start in life.

It’s not going to happen 🙂 but that doesn’t mean I can’t dream! And to be honest, it doesn’t seem like that much to shoot for (much easier to achieve than $5 million).

I know it’s stupid but I always feel good when I play this game so I thought I’d share it! Indulge me a little!

Have a great week everyone.

2 Comments »

  1. Fantasy is reality in the world today!

  2. Moneymonk said

    If you win the lottery or sue someone. It all can become real ! LOL

    Stay focus on paying off debt and try to get your income up in the process and give yourself a goal date and it could possibly happen

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

