Shifting the figures

There have been a few changes on the sidebar over there on the right this week.

The best one is the presence of two `PAID OFF’ labels, though I really felt I had to leave the garden labour portion visible as a reminder to myself of the work ahead this summer.

This leaves us with only the car loan to go, which is pretty exciting and I still don’t know if we will aim to pay that off quickly (within 6 months) or get back on track for home ownership instead. That decision wil stay on the backburner for a while as we just accumulate some funds again (today, I have a feeling we will aim to pay the loan down first but this tend to change on a daily basis!). This is the only downside of paying off that family debt -we depleted our home deposit funds to do it.

However, otherwise I feel pretty good at the moment.  I have a LOT of work to do for uni, and my `fun’ time is popping on line to check my fave PF blogs and write a post.

Next week I have a friend coming up from down south for 4 days, which I can see will cost a bit in dinners out etc. However, I am on a bit of a health kick at the moment so I won’t be spending up too much. And I have already let her know that I’d rather spend a fair bit of time catching up with her at home. I will need to leave her to her own devices a bit because of the study I am trying to get done, but luckily she already let me know she would like to do some exploring on her own anyway, so that’s great as it works out well for both of us.

On a final note, it’s not finance-related but I want to share anyway. I have started my obstetric rotation at the hospital and the reason I haven’t blogged in a few days is that I spent from 8am Tuesday till 4am Wednesday in the birth suite, most of the time with a lovely young couple having their first baby. I was lucky enough to be present for the birth of their beautiful daughter, a magical experience that I will always remember. On a sadder note, my rotation involves spending some time in the neonatal intensive care unit at our hospital, which involves caring for some of the tiniest premature babies. One of the bubs in there at the moment was born at 26 weeks gestation – in case you didn’t know, babies are usually born at 39-40 weeks. The 26-week old is smaller than a tub of butter and her skin is still translucent, so you can actually see many of the blood vessels and organs inside her. Sometimes I feel so lucky to do what I do – sharing the best and worst of times with people can be difficult and emotional, but it is ultimately very rewarding!

Leave a Reply

