Out of debt for 72 hours

No, the title of this post is not about me.  I’m not out of debt at all! But on the Dave Ramsay Show on Saturday night, a guy called in to say he had been outof debt for just 72 hours when he and his wife decided to finance a car.

Somewhat cryptically, he described it as being for his son, who was just a toddler! Dave was confused and sounded him out on whether or not it was a real car, but the guy said it was (with that price tag, it would want to be … but how then could it be for his son?).

Anyway, Dave was pretty unimpressed. He couldn’t see how you would work so hard to be debt free just to change your whole philosophy in a matter of days.

But the chilling part is, I can see how it could happen. Already, as I near my debt free goal, I start thinking more and more about the stuff I can `afford’. The fact is, I can’t afford anything as I don’t even have any savings. I know there is a difference in me these days, as I am able to steadfastly refuse these impulses. But that doesn’t mean they go away.

I worked really hard to pay down my credit card and a couple of other small debts a few years ago, before caving and paying for an ill-fated holiday on credit. I know how easy it can be to just drop all your good work and go back to square one. I guess the only good thing is that I didn’t let myself slide so far the second time around.

There’s no doubt, a lot of our decisions about credit have been poor (or this blog would not exist). However, I’m also thankful, in some respects, for having to go through this journey. I don’t think I would have learned so much about money and good financial sense without having to pay down this debt and make every dollar count. I expect that the change in us is going to extend to life after debt.

2 Comments »

  1. chacha said

    Hi,

    I just bumped into the Dave Ramsay Show on another website and wondered whether it was worth joining. Any comments?

    Kind regards, ChaCha

  2. debtfretter said

    Hi ChaCha,
    I guess you are referring to Dave’s Total Money Makeover plan? To be truthful, I haven’t really given the idea of joining it any serious thought. For one, I’m too cheap – trying to pay off my debt – to put the money into paying for the program. Also, I have a debt repayment program in place that seems to be working for me. Thirdly, a lot of the benefits that I would join the program for (motivation, advice etc) I already get from my forays into the blogosphere, where I already benefit from hundreds of people’s perspectives. Also, Dave puts a lot of his stories from people who have called in after becoming debt free on his main website for free. Finally, because I’m in Australia, I don’t get a lot of the advantages of membership, such as copies of Dave’s books. So it might work for you to join up, but consider the other online sources where you can get the same benefits for free.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

