Will my net worth drop this month?

I keep track of my net worth on networthIQ, but have never been able to make it public because I opened it with a name that is a bit too … well, public.  One day I intend to transfer the data to my debtfretter moniker but haven’t gotten around to it recently.

Suffice to say, including our retirement accounts, our net worth is $68,195. I have to say, we’ve had a stellar run this year. In January, our net worth rose $3116, and in February it rose $1780. In March it went up about $900 and in April, the amount was $2110. This progress has mostly been due to our efforts to pay $500/week off debt, which is more successful some months than others.

However, we are facing our first ever month where our net worth might drop. When I say `the first time’, I of course only mean since I started keeping track! Before June 2007, our NW dropped all the time – that was the problem!

But this month, car repairs are likely to rob us of most of our emergency fund – our billpaying account (which isn’t included in my net worth figures) just doesn’t have enough to cover it. As well as that, I won’t be contributing to the car loan for the next two weeks as I save for our party costs instead. And clearly, that money won’t contribute to our long-term future!

That still leaves 2 weeks of (hopefully) $500 car loan payments for the month. Plus hopefully I can redo some of the damage to the emergency fund before May is over. I’d like to at least stay stable in our net worth and not go backwards, but I don’t know how possible that is.

One thing I have noticed – as soon as I pay off any debt, I like to update my sidebars on this site. But now that our EF is taking a hit, do you notice I haven’t touched the sidebar to `report’ the damage. Hmmm, pretending the money’s still there doesn’t change reality! I’ll get to it … soon!

By the way, did I happen to mention that I’m SO SICK OF DEBT????

 

2 Comments »

  1. Dolly Iris said

    It really makes a difference when you take charge of your finances and are always aware of where you are with them, eh?

    I think you’re doing great and don’t worry, soon enough that pesky debt will be gone!

  2. All the best in your effort to take control of your personal finances.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

