Close to debt-free … and ready to party

I noticed that there was $101.90 left in our account today so I snuck an extra $100 towards our debt tonight. Our weekly pays start rolling in tomorrow so we should be fine, as we both have some cash on us.  We didn’t do a big grocery shop last week so the trade-off is a big shop this week. I just thought it was best to get rid of that $100 before it got eaten away on something frivolous (`eaten away’ is probably the operative term, given our habits!).

Another budget alteration I’ve made means that on the last pay day in June – the week we are all set to pay off our debt – we should have $200 available in order to do something nice to celebrate. Until now, I’d figured it would take every single spare cent to achieve debt freedom before the year financial year was out. Mind you, I’d be surprised if we did spend all that money on celebrating, but it will be nice to have enough cash available to have some options about what we do.

After all, this is going to be a momentous occasion, one which deserves a memorable celebration. It’s not like a couple becomes debt free every day.

At the moment, I’m just thinking we’ll enjoy a dinner out – a very rare treat – at a nice restaurant. However, it doesn’t sound very original, does it? If you have any ideas on some more original ways to celebrate, let me know. (I know I’d love to add a movie on to dinner, but not sure how much of a reward the Sex and the City movie would be for my husband!) 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments »

  1. Oh.. CONGRATS 😀 😀 😀 😀

    It is such a nice feeling to see your debt drop .. and disappear.

  2. Thanks FB – our time is coming! 🙂

  3. SavingDiva said

    I would love a nice dinner out 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

