What happened to hubby’s salary?

Funnily enough, this week is the first time we haven’t had a debt payment to make (because I’m just waiting on the cheque now to clear our debt). So what happens? Hubby’s work decides they are going to change things so they no longer pay them the week they work. Now they will pay them the week after (which does make more sense).

Consequently – long story short – this week he’s only being paid for three days! We wouldn’t have coped with this during our mega debt-reduction period. I would have been sent into a frenzy of figures and recalculations.

Apparently they told my hubby but he `didn’t take it in’. Gosh, he’s hopeless sometimes. But it wasn’t a big deal. I just readjusted some spending and billpaying goals and we’re OK. Isn’t it amazing that being (essentially, nearly) debt free means losing almost half our main salary for a week is not a nightmare.

It just goes to show how amazing it will be when the debt is officially gone.

I AM still waiting on my cheque though. I have no doubt it’s coming but it should have been sent on June 30 and arrived yesterday at the latest. Hopefully, it will be in the mail today.

EDIT: The cheque did arrive today, and was even slightly more than expected ($2160) – the extra $60 will cover any additional interest fees since the end of last month. I didn’t have time to get to the bank so I’ll deposit the cheque on Monday, then have the three-day wait for clearance. All things considered, this means I’ll transfer the last payment next Thursday and will be OFFICIALLY debt free this time next week. If you’ve been following this blog for any amount of time you’re probably as over this saga as I am, but we are reaching the end!

2 Comments »

  1. Dolly Iris said

    Is it weird for me to beaming right now? I am SO happy for you and your family. I know its been a struggle with family and money this year but you made it through everything with grace and style. I can’t wait to read your debt free post!

    Oh, and an extra sixty bucks? Right on!

  2. Roger said

    I like you share a passion for getting rid of debt.
    I’m happy I came across this site.
    Please add me to your blog roll as I’m currently adding you to mine.
    http://rapiddebtloss.com

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

