Happy Birthday to So Sick of Debt!!

 

Today is the one-year anniversary of my blog! I am so happy to still be blogging after a year, and am proud and somewhat dismayed to report that my family and I will be debt-free this week, almost to the day since I became a blogger. How’s that for timing?

I took a look back at that first post and I have to say, it was very uncharacteristic for my style since. You can read it here. I basically set out my intentions for the blog and for debt reduction before settling into a list of the basic tips I could give to someone trying to cut their debt. The tips were fine but I soon realised I wasn’t a `10 reasons/10 ways’ kind of blogger. I just wanted to tell my story.

Since then I’ve found some amazing blogs, and learnt so much about what I really want out of money and our future. I realised that becoming debt free was going to be only part of the journey. I also had to overcome feelings of being trapped in the living situation my family was in, and feeling that scrimping together a tiny deposit for a home was going to turn that around.

It took me a while to realise that what we needed was to stop buying crap and to build an emergency fund, before we could even think of buying a home. Turns out that was a good move because here in Australia, interest rates have risen right along with house prices. We would have bought right on the peak of the market, with maximal interest rates and no equity. Now I’ve seen and learnt so much from the subprime crisis in the US, I am glad to say I am lucky I did not buy just yet.

The hard part of learning more about finances is the bit where you figure out how much work still has to be done before you can really reap the benefits. We still have to save a reasonable emergency fund and – at least – a 20% home deposit. This is going to take us years, and is a formidable goal.

But I am finally starting to feel good about our financial future, and why not? We are proud to call ourselves debt-free (well, this coming Friday at least!) and I think mentally we have come so far in just one year.

Before I stop rambling, I want to acknowledge some great bloggers who are regular commentators on my blog. Without you, I would probably not feel accountable and who knows if I’d still be here? So thanks especially to:

Fabulously Broke in the City

Dolly Iris

– Louise at Eliminate my Debt

_ Debt Dieter

Ugly Debty

– JvW at The Good Life on a Budget

– Saving Diva at Saving for a Home of my Own

_ Lynnae at Being Frugal

– JW at Need to be Debt Free

There are many more and I may have missed some of you, but I do really appreciate all your kind words and support, and I look forward to our future shared successes :).

11 Comments »

  1. Any time!!! 🙂 hard NOT to comment when I love reading your blog hee hee

  2. Any time!!! 🙂 hard NOT to comment when I love reading your blog hee hee

    Oh and happy bday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. louise said

    happy on eyear anniversary! And it’s great that by the weekend you will be debt free. are you going to celebrate?

  4. We are, but my husband is working his busiest weekend of the year! However, the weekend after is our anniversary and we might roll the two celebrations into one! Can’t wait!

  5. Dolly Iris said

    Let me just say that support is a two way street and I have really appreciated having you in my corner too!

    I am so happy to see how far you’ve come and soon you’ll be debt free. Happy blogoversary!!!

  6. tehnyit said

    Happy anniversary to your blog! Keep the great articles coming!.

  7. Thanks everybody, I really appreciate it!
    Am already so much calmer!
    And I have not yet experienced the sudden urge to spend. 🙂

  8. Roger said

    Congratulations on the success of your blog and at life.
    I’d love for you to write a guest article on my blog if you don’t mind about your success or whatever.

    Also, Thanks for the add.
    Wishing you great luck on you other goals.

  9. Bouncing Back said

    CONGRATULATIONS ! What a great milestone-on ward and upward ! Good Luck on your other goals

    BB

  10. JvW said

    Happy anniversary to your blog and to your marriage! Thank you so much for mentioning me – I love reading your story and it makes me feel like I’m not the only one fighting the good fight.

    I am a little jealous that you’re going to beat me to debt freedom, though!

  11. Congratulations on you blogiversary! 🙂

    Even more congratulations on gaining debt freedom, I’m thrilled for you!

    I’m still years away unfortunately, but I’m fighting the good fight.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

