Savings going up

Well, I just had my second payday and I feel we are starting to make some progress. We were able to add $1300 this fortnight to our house deposit account, and have been adding $200/week to our emergency fund since the beginning of the year.

That puts our current savings at $800 for the emergency fund and $2900 for the house deposit. On Friday, another $200 will go in the emergency fund and make that $1000.

I also just recently had a change of heart and moved a $500 award (which I received when I finished uni) from the efund into the house deposit account, just to give that one a bit more of a boost.

I also aim to find an extra $1500 to make up for the first 2-3 weeks of the year, when I was not yet receiving my pay and we were therefore unable to put money into our house deposit. I’d like to find some creative ways to come up with this money, and aim to start by finding $150 to add to the house deposit account this weekend. I’ll let you know what I come up with.

In the meantime, we keep on `keeping on’, as they say. Work is busy and I was not paid my overtime this week, however I’m happy to let it accrue and receive it next fortnight.

Here is a list of all the things I have resisted buying in order to do this:

– a used treadmill

– some new bedding

– having my hair chemically straightened

– a new work wardrobe

My wants continue despite debt freedom, unfortunately!

3 Comments »

  1. When my savings went up I was ecstatic to see money in the account. But then I got the urge to put it all towards debt, which I had to curb until I got near the end.

    I think all of your wants are reasonable (I still want a new digicam even though I have one, etc etc..) but I have to say, they aren’t so-called needs per se. So it’s great that you’re making priorities in what you want and need to clear debt.

    Fabulously Broke in the City
    Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver.

  2. w said

    yea i know what you mean. it’s hard to resist all the temptations in this world.

    mydebtcomeback.blogspot.com

  3. frugalcpa said

    I can’t wait to be in your situation. Need. To. Be. Patient.

    And then be good about “keeping on.”

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

