So Sick of Debt: the `On Holiday’ edition

Well, I am now officially on leave!  I am going to sleep in this weekend and really enjoy it before getting busy to make the most of my time off.

We also added the latest $200 bucks to our efund and it is really starting to climb now – it’s up to $1400.

However, I am a bit worried about how to handle the early payment required for our houseboat trip. They want the balance of our trip 30 days in advance (ie now!), which would require hitting the efund or putting it on the credit card! That’s because although I have allocated where the money for our trip will come from, neither of these lump sums have actually hit our account yet.

Does this mean we’ll be back in debt, even if it is for a short time? I’m not really happy with either of the two options above, which is exactly why one of my goals for this year is to accumulate a $2000 slush fund for situations like this! Looks like I would have been better off accumulating this straight away.

This is exactly the reason I didn’t think it was fair for my new employer to make me take holidays so early, as I didn’t have time to save for my holidays specifically.  Apparently it is in our award that they can do this to us, but I don’t necessarily believe that it is true. It’s also been ruled on by employees (administration staff) who would never accept it if it was forced on them. However, being at the bottom of the medical heap means they can do stuff like this apparently.

Anyway, it’s happening now so I need to make the best of it. I thought I might do some work on our father-in-law’s house. I was thinking about learning to tile, as there are a few small rooms that I could start on and see how I go. My husband is very handy so he could step in if I go off track.  But maybe it’s harder than I have been led to believe. Any thoughts?

1 Comment »

  1. debtdieter said

    I’d use your real money rather than the credit card, then use the incoming payments to restock your e-fund?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

